Pijul as first version control system

Hi people!

I have no experience using a version control system. I read a fair bit about pijul, and I would like to learn that without having experience with Git. Would that work? Where to start?

I see there is a whole range of Git tutorials for beginners. If I start with that, do I learn the concepts wrong, and do I need to re-learn when coming to Pijul? Or can that be mitigated by skipping certain parts (which?)? Or is there some tutorial for Pijul, not assuming prior knowledge of a VCS?

thanks!

1 Like

I don’t think there would be anything wrong about learning Pijul as your first VCS. The concepts are radically different from Git’s, and most of the time much much simpler. To begin with, you don’t need to understand how things work under the hood in order to use it, you only have to understand what patches are. Then, working with Pijul means producing and exchanging patches, that’s all.

One difficulty I can see is that while Pijul’s concepts are simpler, the community is many times smaller, and questions you may have may not be readily solved on stackoverflow. That said, you are also likely to have way less questions.

1 Like

I think the manual is a bit sparse, but it does list all the commands (which you can get from using pijul help anyway).
There is still a mixture of referring to “patches” and “changes” since the terminology was changed in the code…

If you do read about Git, or other VCS except Darcs, you will think of it as a way to capture snapshots of files. But Darcs (maybe SVN) and Pijul accumulate sets of changes to files. It’s almost the same thing, but not quite. Someone correct this if it’s wrong:
The biggest difference is that snapshots are derived from a parent in a linear fashion, whereas sets can have multiple dependencies. This affects how the tool can determine conflicts and report on the history.