Why do `pijul add` and `pijul remove` exist?

I am new to Pijul and have only used Git before.

In Git you need to stage changes before you can commit them with git add. In Pijul changes seem to automatically be “staged” and instead you select what you want to record in the interactive pijul record process.

Why do I have to call pijul add and pijul remove when creating or deleting files when there is also a .ignore file with which Pijul should know which files to track/untrack automatically?

Git adds files to staging for commit.
Pijul adds paths to the tree being tracked.
Perhaps it should be track and untrack instead of add and remove.
The .gitignore file will cause a warning if your add command conflicts.
I don’t know if the Pijul .ignore file will do the same, or silently ignore.
Using an ignore list makes it easier to ensure that build output is not put into the repo, but it would be cumbersome to have to edit that list all the time if that were the only way to control the repo.

2 Likes

I acknowledge that forcing the user to use a .ignore file is not desirable.
I do however think that something should be changed about the current situation.
It seems quite cumbersome having to track each newly created file. Not to mention it would not be obvious in any way if you forgot to track a newly created file unless you compared pijul ls and ls before every pijul record (clarification: I mean in case there are a lot of changes. Of course you will notice if you only added a new file and changed another). Deleting a file seems to require two commands as well. Untracking it and actually removing it.
The .ignore file feels quite useless as well. If you have to manually add every file you want to track why don’t just not track the files in question. Why would an extra .ignore file be needed.